Top 10 Albums 2012

And here they are! The 10 albums I just couldn’t stop listening over and over again…  God, I LOVED this year that’s coming to an end! So, let’s begin the countdown shall we?

Nicki Minaj - Pink Friday Roman Reloaded

10. Taylor Swift’s says loving him was Red

Taylor Swift - Red Sin

God, I used to hate this chick, but she knew how to pull a country-pop-dancey record and I totally fell for it! I mean, with tracks like “Begin Again”, “Holy Ground” and “22” you just can’t control yourself. Trust me, this is worth the Swifty stuff.

9. Curiosity will never let me go…

Carly Rae Jepsen - Curiosity Large

So, Carly Rae Jepsen took over the world this year with “Call Me Maybe” and everybody was singing and dancing to it. In the meanwhile, I was tearing my headphones apart with “Curiosity”. Carly did a great EP, and when the sophomore effort, Kiss came over,  I just fell with the leading track, “Tiny Little Bows”. What a piece of dance-pop album!

8. Bye to the Cannibal inside, ‘cause here comes the Warrior

Kesha - Warrior

 I waited for Ke$ha for a year, but when she delivered… damn, I was happy! The first time I heard “Die Young” I feel in love, even if it wasn’t as catchy as “Tik Tok” or “We R Who We R”, the songs surely turned me on. When the album came, I totally fell for it: from “Thinking Of You” and “Crazy Kids”, to  “Gold Trans Am”, I was dancing and rapping with Princess Ke$ha. I surely was.

7. First she was Brava!, then she went Reload!

Paulina Rubio - Brava Reload

Pau Power! And she really is as powerful as “Heat Of The Night” is on the dancefloor! At first, I was engaged with this album ‘cause of the statement: “Boys Will Be Boys”. Then came “Say The Word”, “Around The World”, and the heat began. Brava, Paulina, Brava!

6. And the Beat Goes On with… Corazón Bipolar

 Paty Cantu - Corazon Bipolar Album

More than a year passed since Afortunadamente No Eres Tú, was released and made me really happy. Now, Paty Cantú‘s third effort Corazón Bipolar really got to my bipolar self. This album is full of sarcastic, heart broke kinda songs that will surely make you dance (there’s even an interpolation of Paulina’s hit “Mio”, GREATEST).

5. ‘Cause is Lana at her best: Born To Die

Lana Del Rey - Born To Die Album

 The first album of my 2012, had to be Lana Del Rey‘s. When I heard “Born To Die”, I fell instantly and had to carry on and on into this hipster-Hollywood glam-goddess. “Off To The Races”,  “Mountain Dew”, “Dark Paradise” and “Lucky Ones”, the standout tracks beside the hit “Video Games”. Then Lana released a Paradise Edition with 9 tracks including the newest single “Ride” and the controversial “Cola” (Try “My pussy taste like pepsi cola…” for a opening line), but it wasn’t as good as the first album.

4. And Dev brought The Night The Sun Came Up

 Dev - The Night The Sun Came Up Big

AndI certainly enjoyed it. “I wanna take this money, get out of town…” Dev sings at the very beginning of the album in “Getaway” as you enter this electro-pop world of hers. Besides her most known song “In The Dark”, I have heard “Take Her From You”, saw the video and loved her instantly. Then came “Breathe”, “Lighstpeed”, “Dancing Shoes”, and “Perfect Match”. Perfection.

3. Welcome to the life of Electra Heart

 Marina & The Diamonds - Electra Heart Big

As “Bubblegum Bitch” starts, you can surely feel that’s going to be a great ride with Marina Diamandis. If “Primadonna” was a really great teenage song, if you’re into a more morbid mood, you can try “Radioactive” and start loving Marina’s music, as I did. My heart is now nuclear, love is all that I feel. For real.

2. ‘Cause a show about the life of Marilyn Monroe as a musical

gotta be a SMASH

The Music Of Smash FM1

And I thought there wouldn’t be a better musical related show than Glee. Well, Spielberg proved me wrong: there is and it’s called SMASH. And we have Katharine McPhee and Megan Hilty singing covers and original tunes just to make it to the Top 2 of my yearly countdown. In The Music Of Smash, you get covers of Jessie J’s “Who You Are”, Kelly Clarkson’s “Breakaway”, Christina Aguilera’s “Beautiful”, even one of the Jonas Bros. Sings a cover of Michael Bublé. Weird. One of my favorites: Katharine McPhee‘s rendition to “Touch Me”, penned by Ryan Tedder, who made a cameo in the show. He’s a hottie.

1. The Pink Friday gets very Reloaded

Nicki Minaj - Pink Friday Roman Reloaded The Re Up PAC

 Y E S. This IS the album of my 2012. Why? Well, I danced to it from tip to toe. Even when I’m not a big fan of hip-hop and there are a few rappers I stand, this was amazing. Nicki Minaj know how to deliver and she can really rap my life away, I mean “I Am Your Leader” and “Beez In The Trap”, are the most catchy songs I’ve ever heard and liked. That’s from the Hip-Hop side of the table, ‘cause in the other one… we have euro-dance, bitches!

Yes, the second half of Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded, begins with the hit “Starships”, continues with my personal anthem “Pound The Alarm”, and goes on and on with dance till you bleed songs like “Whip It, “Automatic” and  on the Deluxe Version “Va Va Voom” and “Masquerade”.

Nicki was very busy filming a lot of videos to the various genres songs in the album, but then she released The Re Up, and made her fans very happy again: “Freedom” came up and captured my heart like forever. Haven’t heard a song like that since “I’ll Be Missing You”, and that was the 90s. Geez.

So Nicki made my heart dance with happiness in 2012, and I hope even more Minaj comes in 2013. Let’s pray for that!

@BetointheBox

Autor: León Alberto

I Was Pandora... And Then I Got Over It.

Responder

